Lucky Thirteen

Posted in Local Bands Florida, Local Bands Orlando, Local Venues, Music and Life with tags , , on January 2, 2013 by rosesopinion

9165138[1]  happy-new-year-2013-wallpaper[1]

With the end of 2012 just 12 hours behind us, and having survived a very uneventful “apocalypse”,   (so where are all those brain-eating zombies, anyway?) we’re going to stop to reflect for a second before we plunge headlong into 2013.   This past year has been amazing for Rose… not necessarily easy… just absolutely amazing.  The latter half of 2011 (If there is a number we don’t like… it is 11), saw us spiraling into the pit… inconsolably heartbroken….on a reckless path toward nothingness.   Earlier in the year, a good friend allowed herself to fall into that same kind of pit… and she ended her journey there.  (Leigh, this world dearly misses your crazy humor and Bohemian style) That could be where we were headed until something kicked us in the ass and made us pull ourselves out of the wreckage, relentlessly clinging to the music that’s always been our saving grace.   Finding our place in the music community this year has been a great adventure fueled by the encouragement received from so many of you to move forward in our pursuit.

Rose’s Damned Opinion will be expanding to her own website in the next few weeks.  Please be patient, while we’re still under construction.  We must say that none of it would be happening without the phenomenal talents of Bo Bradshaw – Brilliant Engine and Matt McEwen – Diatonic Productions.   As we grow, the site (www.rosesdamnedopinion.com) will allow us tons more flexibility , to do audio-video interviews, showcase new music and tours, feature a different band each month, review music, sell your merch, and keep up on the ever changing calendar of events.   In 2013, our mission is to create a hub of information on Florida’s music scene, and a place for you to go and let the world know what’s up with your band.  chinese_new_year_2013_year_of_the_snake_card-p137242811084934858bh2r3_400[1]

People that are really into numbers say that 13 is the number that cleanses and purifies.  The lucky number 13 represents a test, suffering, the death of the material, and a rebirth of the spirit.  With 13 paving the way … we are exhilarated to start the year and travel down many new paths that will become part of our journey.

We feel a resurgence of positive energy with the New Year.  With the hard work of great people like Jb Brock-Wildman Productions, Clint Pinder-Maniacal Mojo Records, Sick World Radio, James Cripps- Rock Gator Radio, and an army of others a strong alliance is being formed connecting Florida’s new music from Tampa to Cocoa and Gainesville to Ft. Lauderdale, with Orlando the crossroads of it all.  It’s an exciting time for music, indeed.

 373210_486600548030158_1713687508_n[2]On the last Saturday night of the year, we had an amazing time at our favorite place to be – The Haven.  It was an awesome show with Viasava, (n)ception, Another Life Spared, Born From Ashes, Leaving Haven, and Southern Fried Genocide.  Don’t know if it was the full moon, or because it’s the end of the year….. but the energy was high and everybody delivered a kick-ass set. 

***

Southern Fried Genocide

This was our first time seeing and hearing these good old southern fried boys, and we were nicely surprised by their contrast in style to the rest of the lineup.  In reviewing their bio, I’ve read several comparisons to some of the best, like Lynyrd Skynyrd and AC/DC…. but we’re also hearing a touch of Danzig in Steve-O’s vocals.    In any case, there’s some gritty bluesy Southern rock in all its rebellious glory going on here.  It was great meeting these guys… hope they get over to Central Florida more often.

Leaving Haven

We haven’t seen Leaving Haven since early 2011.  Back then, there were still some permanent members missing.  And while we liked their work that first time, we’ve got to say an incredible change has happened since our initial impression of the band.  With Trevor Hastings on Vocals, Michael Strippoli – Guitar,  Luke Melsenti – Guitar,  Madison Macko- Bass, and Benjamin Melsenti – Drums, the band has tightened up and now delivers a polished sound much like Chevelle, embellished by their own personality and presence.  Check out their music and new website… www.leavinghaven.com

Viasava

Another first time experience for us; Viasava travelled from their home state of Georgia to be here for this weekend’s show.  The band has been touring pretty constantly in the last half of 2012 in support of their debut LP “One Year Down”.  After listening to a few of the tracks and seeing them live, we have to say this is a relatively new band with a very experienced sound.  With great vocals, clean and nicely layered guitars and drums, they’re sound is reminiscent of Sevendust with a twist of their very own.  On stage, they grab your attention and play well to the crowd.  Their set definitely makes you stop and listen, and then you want to hear more….. visit their website and get your copy of “One Year Down”.  www.viasava.com

For the superstitious “13” brings bad luck and misfortune.  For us, it’s a chance to make some changes and launch new adventures.  So take “13” any way you want, but we are looking for some big stuff to happen this year!  Be sure to look for our first review of 2013 where Rose will be giving her opinion of Rock Gator Radio’s new compilation album. 

 ***

Rose’s “Most” list for 2012 

(mind you… these are just the few that are okay to print )

* Most played CD of 2012:  Auditory Armory’s “Anomaly”    (This CD came along when we needed it most)

* Most fun moments:  Evermore Sound and Orlando Bands.com – Battle of the Band Series

* Most interesting “first time” experience:  Interview with Beautiful Mourning

* Most unique moments:  Standing outside the Ritz in Ybor, awaiting the all clear to go back inside for Summer Slaughter

* Most unexpected moments:  a minute on stage with Meka Nism, and a shout-out from Jennifer Perez during a recent Another Life Spared show

* Most favorite place to hang out:  The Haven

* Most educational visit:  The Peaches Music store in New Orleans…. The still have LOTS of vinyl!!

* Most unbelievably over the top show:  Once again, the magnificent Trans-Siberian Orchestra

12-21-12 … the end of it all?

Posted in Music and Life with tags , on December 20, 2012 by rosesopinion

We thought we should get at least one more opinion in before it’s too late. 

2012 began with a visit to the Mayan ruins at Tulum, Mexico.  It was an incredibly humbling experience, rivaled only by the experiences of standing on the rim of the Grand Canyon, the highest peak in the Adirondack mountains, and staring at the stars on the open Sea.  (Obviously, not done all at the same time!)  Tulum is one of those places where you realize how tiny and insignificant you are.  And yet like each little stitch in a quilt, everybody holds a piece of it together.  You get an overwhelming sense of calm there, knowing that all of the trivial things people spend their lives trying to obtain…. really don’t mean shit.

 53068499-shaman03-tm[1]There are Mayan people still very much alive and well, some still practice the rituals of their ancestors and live their lives much the same way,  (yes, yes, including the blood sacrifices – except they say it’s chicken blood nowadays).  The Mayans were a great society, and judging by the few descendants that we met…they’re pretty cool people.  As a culture they are very aware of the mind, body, spirit connections and natural/supernatural influences all around us.  Their ancient civilization was every bit as lusty and materialistic, as spiritual and intellectual as people are now.  The human species has always been a mass of contradictions and always will be.

The Mayans were awesome mathematicians and astronomers and actually used several calendars. The Mayan long calendar is what this end of  the world theory was based on by some New  CartoonAge religion guy that wrote a book in 1987.  I am not sure why this dude interpreted 12-21-12 as the end of the world, but the Mayans really never said that.  What their calendar predicts is that the world is entering a new age… like a doorway into a more enlightened existence.  If it takes mass destruction by some random meteor or some other mega force to do it; then, so be it.  There’s really nothing we can do except be proud to have lead one hell of a life while we were here… happy to have loved and treated people as decently as we could … in hopes to see everybody again on the other side.  (Bet there’s gonna be one hell of a party over there!)

Mexico 2012 139 Granted, at the rate we are destroying the Mother (Earth), humans will surely bring about their own demise.  We just don’t think it’s going to happen this week.  Karma doesn’t play that way…she will take us all out completely by surprise… definitely not when everybody is expecting it.  We prefer to hope that in this new era people will smarten up and become more aware of the stuff that really matters.  Maybe we can shift our focus from the greed that drives our world right now to paying more attention to the actual people and creatures that inhabit it.  We hope that in this new age, little kids will be able to go to school, bible class, daycare, or wherever, without fear of being shot or molested.  Maybe we will learn to respect our elders (learn from our past) and care about our children (nurture the future).  Maybe we will learn to appreciate that all living beings are important (yep, even those bastard red ants that are invading my front yard right now).

mayan-calendar-predictions-2[1]

To hell with the politics of it all… people should have more respect for each other… maybe then not as many would go psycho on us.     (Does anybody hear John Lennon right there…  “Imagine all the people….” okay, okay, enough already.)

Wishing everyone an awesome 12-21-12!  Try to be wherever it is you really want to be, with the people you most want to be with… just in case.

                    

Lions, and Zebras, and FILTH – Oh my! (Orlando Bands.com / Evermore Sound Battle of the Bands Finals)

Posted in Local Bands Orlando, Local Venues, Music and Life, Orlando Venues with tags , , , , , , on December 10, 2012 by rosesopinion

20121207_232223  Winners

Hats off to Orlando Bands.com and Evermore Sound for showcasing 64 of Central Florida music’s finest over the rigorous weeks of The Battle of The Bands 2012.  It was a valiant fight to the finish Friday night at Back Booth, as the war came to an end with Lions After Dark claiming the final victory. 

0000000000

20121207_21464820121207_220232

Lions After Dark is a young band of girls and guys, that exude a skill and confidence way beyond their years.  Their music is kinda hippy, bluesy, 60’s and 70’s era and super well done.  It took a minute to transition from FILTH’s rampage to this Melanie/Joplin-esque sound, but about half a song in, we became completely caught up in the smooth style of Curt Pfeiffer on drums, Abby Winteregg playing bass, and Andrew Roden’s guitar.  Front woman, Maddie is an adorable bundle of energy with a really sweet sound, but you get the feeling that she could probably rip your face off with the power of her incredible voice if you crossed her.  (We really think she could!) This is the combination that allows the band to take control.  Come on now, you have no choice but to be drawn in and sing along with their excellent rendition of “Mercedes Benz”.   We think that no matter what kind of lousy mood you may have been in when you came to the show…. You’re gonna have fun when Lions After Dark hits the stage.  You have to look them up on Facebook and check out Rose’s favorite, the sultry jazzy tune, “Waste No Time”…. You just gotta smile!       

0000000000

20121207_204749

We were all given an extra helping of FILTH on this night.  The guys were as amazing and outrageous as ever.   Their  devious and FILTHY little plan is working…..with solid ass kicking metal, these consummate showmen are proving one set after another that metal can definitely be good fun…. Why, be so dark and serious all the time?   The more we see ‘em, the more we love ‘em, as they progressively move forward teasing us with just a little more naughtiness each show.  Most memorable moment of the night….the entire crowd…. fists in the air…. chanting in unison…. 20121207_204654

“WE WE ARE FILTH!!  WE ARE FILTH!!  WE ARE FILTH!!”  Yes, we definitely are. 

0000000000

 Taking second place was the clean, crisp sound of Zebra Panic.  The band has been together since 2011 and has participated in several Christian music competitions before joining the Battle of the Bands.  In August of this year; Nick, David, Brandon, Jason and Michael  released their first demo EP, comprised of 5 songs recorded and produced by the band themselves.  

Zebrapanic1

 20121207_200445Special guests, Antic opened the night.  While not part of the competition it was surely a bonus to have a chance to see them here.   Antic gives a fresh new lease on old school southern style.  There’s just enough angst to give their sound a proper edge, and some great guitar riffs to back it up with attitude.  We particularly like the darker tune “Slenderman”.  From what we hear, they have an EP and video in the works.  We are really looking forward to seeing and hearing more from Antic.   

  BenGardnerYou can be sure that we will be following Ben and Orlando Bands.com as they take us on this journey again in 2013.  It’s been a great ride….and we thank you s for bringing us so many bands and so much great music.       419656_343614945691130_27168562_n[1]

Spooky Goblyns, Side Shows, and Human Factors

Posted in Local Bands Florida, Local Bands Orlando, Local Venues, Music and Life, Special Events Orlando on November 11, 2012 by rosesopinion

The thing we love most about spending the weekend with Spooky Empire is the education …  Yes, that’s right… the education!  In one all-too-short and gruesome weekend you can learn how to properly apply your character’s bloody make-up; how to create skull sculptures; how love an Empire scorpion;  and what are the proper tools to stock a vampire killing kit or your zombie research project.   You can shop for one of a kind horror art, hand made knives, guillotines, coffins, electric chairs, and of course a few new corsets for Ms. Rose’s closet.

Spooky Empire exists to honor the art of horror film making and always has a plethora of celebrity guests from classic horror flicks.  But, it should be a requirement for everyone to check out a few of the indie films at The Freak Show Film Festival over the course of the weekend.  Rose’s top picks …. “Attack of the Brain Suckers” and “Zero Killed”.

  We also stopped to say hello to the “Rockabilly Zombie Weekend” crew and learned that this film is due out in about 8 weeks from now.  This feature film by Tammie Bennett promises to tell the tale of a rockabilly themed   wedding gone horribly wrong  when zombies crash the party.   This one has been in the making for awhile, and features some great rockabilly bands on the soundtrack; including The Van Orsdels, Rocket 88, and Cadillac Kings.  We are as excited about the musc as we are to see the finished film.  And speaking of George Van Orsdel, he was back in action as host of the Q&A sessions and emcee for the costume contest.  George totally rocks! (we must admit … we still miss the Van Orsdels in the show room at Spooky Empire).

oooo GREEN GOBLYN PROJECT oooo

The Ultimate Horror Weekend wouldn’t be the same without Green Goblyn Project providing us with some home grown Florida punk.  We had a chance to talk with Xtian Goblyn for a little while and gained some insight on where the band’s been and where they’re going.  Xtian commented that Green Goblyn Project is in their sixteenth year.  And over those years, they’ve self released five CD”s and gained a large following on the homefront and across the country.  This is truly a band with some staying power, and they deliver just as great a set now as they did when we first saw them quite a few years back.   We surfed around YouTube and found this  2003 video from “Fluke” one of our favorite GGP tunes, “Members Missing”  http://youtu.be/wO3iFPOmcuo

  Xtian’s first full length solo project “Baboon / Ladycreek” was released on Bony Orbit Records earlier this year.   Awesome tunes like “Miles To Go” are testament to Xtian’s smooth, timeless,  even a bit sultry vocal stylings.  Check out the video:  http://youtu.be/T5DaRKmsyiM

oooo WHITE COLLAR SIDE SHOW oooo

   The White Collar Side Show was our suprise WTF?!? band experience of the weekend.   Having never seen this band or heard their music before … we were amazed by the entire concept of this ingeniously well thought out show.  Through TD’s journey and battle with his own addictions, he has come to create this project to bring to light the harsh realities of our human frailties.  Not to glorify them, but to expose all of the weaknesses and addictions that we hide.  The freaks in this side show are not the characters up on the stage, but each and every one of us as we try to hide our own demons.  But to keep them hidden in the darkness, is to allow them to consume and destroy us.  TD’s message is that with faith and stength, you can control them.  The players are TD, Herr, The Faceless Woman and Leech.  The music is incredibly primitive … two drum kits, a base, and various other objects deftly utilized, to pound away like the very pulse that keeps us alive, and yet there’s a complexity to it that can’t quite be described.  In fact, there is just too much to try and put into this little blog for now. We insist that you check out their music and videos at www.whitecollarsideshow.com.  Promise you, we will continue to follow the White Collar Side Show and can not wait to see them again on their next stop in Central Florida. 

oooo HUMAN FACTORS LAB oooo

   If you don’t already know how awesome we think Human Factors Lab is…. you just haven’t been paying attention.   This show at Spooky Empire was a great intro for the release of  their new EP, “The Blade”.  This is the first installment in a series of four EP’s that will make up “The Suicide Diaries”.  Produced by Chris Vrenna, the EP features three original songs and a cover of  “White Rabbit”.   In a chat with Seven, he said “The Blade is really the band’s best work yet”.   Have to say “As the Church Bell Chines” is the song that gets stuck in our head and plays over and over all day long.  And we give the band lots of credit for taking on Jefferson Airplane’s iconic “White Rabbit”.   In it’s original version it was the song that parents hated, teenagers loved, and clueless little kids (like Ms. Rose) sat in the bedroom singing their throats raw, doing their damnedest to sound like Gracie Slick.  While we are still a little partial to Gracie; Human Factors Lab has done an amazing cover, in many ways a definite improvement over the original.  

 

Human Factors Lab will be on tour from November through the Spring 2013 to support “The Blade”.  So, we want to say thanks to Seven and Sunni for the conversation throughout the weekend, and we wish the band a most kick ass  and successful tour.    We will be looking for you back here in Florida in the Spring!

 

Sunshine State – “Laid Back Since Way Back”

Posted in Local Bands Orlando, Music and Life with tags , on November 5, 2012 by rosesopinion

During a recent meeting with Matt McEwen (Rose’s soon to be website genius) we had the coincidence and good fortune of meeting Casey Lerman.  As he rushed in and out of Matt’s office on a quick break from his day job, he took a minute to introduce himself as Casey with Sunshine State and gave me a copy of the band’s new EP – “Laid Back Since Way Back”.  As we had not yet encountered Sunshine State, we immediately popped the EP in for the drive home.  The three songs contained on this EP are “Isolation”, “The Green” and “Maryjane”.

We also did a little homework on the band and found three more songs and a video on ReverbNation.. “Drifter’s Melody”, “Conflicting Resolutions”, and “A Storm to Be”.  We believe all of these are from at least a year ago, and while they are good; the songs from “Laid Back Since Way Back” show tremendous progression, more polished vocals, and a lot tighter sound with echos of the late great Sublime.  Sunshine State creates the kind of music that makes you want to sit back in your beach chair and watch the sun melt into the horizon.  Central Florida should be proud to have this young band turning out relaxed ska punk sounds to chill with.   This band deserves a little local radio attention, with “Isolation” being our top pick for the first song to hit the airwaves.  Thumbs up and lots of props to Diatonic Productions for the rich, clean quality sound in this short EP.   Of course this is all just our damned opinion;  but when you’re ready to kick back for a bit, give Sunshine State a serious listen.

A Wildman’s Halloween at The Brass Mug

Posted in Local Bands Florida, Local Bands Orlando, Local Venues, Music and Life, Tampa Venues with tags , , , , , , , on October 18, 2012 by rosesopinion

Wildman Entertainment brought together the perfect blend of scary and “bad mutha fucker”  bands  to usher in the holiday season on October 6th at Tampa’s Brass Mug.  JB does Metal Halloween right with;  Murderfly, An Effigy Distorted, Path to Prevail, Creatures of Habit, and Faethom.

0000 MURDERFLY 0000

          Without question, Murderfly are some of the most badass guys around…. and there was no exception on this night.  They never fail to deliver  great sounds whenever we see them play.  Murderfly is the perfect driving to work, get ready for whatever the day’s about to throw at you music.  By the time you get there, you feel good and strong and got your “don’t even think about fuckin’ with me attitude” in place.

We hope Bo will forgive us for borrowing this from his post  yesterday;  “I am and always have been surrounded by so many people, but i’ve always been, and still am very much alone. Perhaps that’s the way it’s supposed to be. Fate and destiny… Please deliver me where I belong, regardless of how many mental and physical scars I bare. My passion is strong. I’ll block out the pain, and the path will remain the same.” ~Bo Dinkins

When we read this, and the number of responses it received, we were inspired to think about what it is that drives us to keep on the path that we all ultimately walk alone.  We believe the momentum comes from those brief moments when our parallel paths are bridged by a shared emotional experience.   The honesty and angst in Murderfly’s music is one of those bridges.  If you’ve lived any life at all, you can relate to Murderfly’s in-your-face music and message.

Looking forward to the forthcoming documentary film “Bare These Scars” and a lot more music from Murderfly.             

0000 AN EFFIGY DISTORTED 0000

Yep.  Definitely loved the masks and spooky decor.  Not sure I want to know what it took to get TJ to flaunt the short-shorts… While the look was quite different, the outfit did not hinder TJ’s masterful guitar riffs in the least.  An Effigy Distorted delivered their set with all of the enthusiasm that has built them a loyal fan base in the Orlando area.  Their followers can always count on them coming to the party ready to rock.  

0000 PATH TO PREVAIL 0000

 

We feel like we’ve been missing something tremendous here for a really long time!  This band was originally established in 2005, and yet this is the first time we’ve seen an entire Path To Prevail set!  And speaking of paths (as we were earlier) Path To Prevail’s founder certainly stays on course.  In reading the band’s bio, we’ve learned that the band has gone through manychanges over the years; so many that Erich is actually the only original member.  With the band’s current line-up, we think Erich has prevailed at building a phenominal band with an impressive resume of shows and bands they have shared the stage with.   Listening to “Pioneer the Apocalypse” while writing this post.  We are most affected by the intense blast-beats, unforgettable guitar riffs (the kind that stay in your head for days) and Dave Marfitt’s vocals.  In their live set, the band has incredible command of the stage and their audience.                     

0000 CREATURES OF HABIT 0000

 Note to self…. GET a copy of Creatures of Habit’s new EP!  This self-titled EP flaunts some gruesome cover art wrapped around some awesome music.   Creatures of Habit is; John Filippazzo  – guitar; Andrew Glut – guitar; Jordan Jensen – drums; Michael Palmer – vocals; Patrick Dunwoody – bass.  Being the horror fan that we are, the creepy lead-in for each song is obviously quite to our liking.  Each of the four songs opens slowly like you’re creeping into something really evil…. then you are attacked by and incredible kick-ass onslaught of music.  We will keep an eye for the next Creatures of Habit show…..

0000  FAETHOM 0000

“The grim tale of FAETHOM begins in the ghoul-infested town of Cochabamba, Bolivia. On one cold and dreary day, David Diacrono,  a Metal Warrior with a heart of ice,” ……… and now you must visit the Faethom website at http://faethomweb.com/, to read the rest of the bands intro.

It’s been over a week since this ghoulish show and we are still absorbing all that Faethom has to offer.   This is a band that we had only heard about until this show, and now we are completely possessed by the delicious darkness of their music.  Faethom creates some of the best blackened metal these ears have heard, showcased in a most successfully executed concept album.

To totally appreciate the works of Faethom, get your bloody hands on a copy of  “In the Name of the Father, The Son, and The Unholy”.  Listen though it the first few times and absorb the music…. David’s brutally thrashing guitar ….Muriela’s diabolical keyboards…. Federico, Hermes, and Fabian pulling it all together perfectly in one hellacious explosion.   Then follow Victor’s ill-fated journey from his lonely home to the brink of Hell and back.  This is an amazingly well written story, full of well-rounded characters, all condensed into 16 tracks.   The music is constantly dark and demonic, Muriela’s vocals range from a most impressive death growl to bawdy burlesque queen to an opera tenor.  There’s a lot of  quality drama here, accompanied by just the right dose of humor. 

Encyclopaedia Metallum lists Faethom as Blackened Heavy Metal / Progressive with Horror themes.  We list them as the band we’d most like to see with a full-scale theatrical production to play out the story of their LP.  Check out the official You Tube video for “THE LETTER”  http://youtu.be/IU6QPD28QYg

Definitely not a band for the faint of heart, but absolutely a band for Rose.

0000 CHEERS TO THE MUG!  0000

For the record, we really like the Brass Mug’s atmosphere.  Cheers to Heather and her crew for their continued efforts to improve the “mug”.  Heather has  plans to further enhance the stage and add a green room for the bands to chill in.  The Brass Mug is most certainly one of the anchor venues for the Tampa Bay Metal scene.  We plan to visit as often as possible.

oooo HAPPY HOLIDAYS! oooo

It’s our favorite season, with lots to do.  Rose will be out and about for Spooky Empire’s Ultimate Horror Weekend, October 25-27, 2012.  This is a weekend not to be missed.  Green Goblin Project and The Vaudvillians return to the convention this year.  And we are so excited that HUMAN FACTORS LAB will be playing on Saturday night at 10:00pm!  If that’s not enough… Twiggy Ramirez will be the d.j. for the party on Friday night.  Check out the Spooky Empire Ultimate Horror Weekend website for more information: http://www.spookyempire.com/    There are so many Halloween festivities over the next two weeks, we wish we could clone ourselves about 10 times so we can keep up.

    

And The Haven Will Rock, 10-5-2012

Posted in Local Bands Orlando, Local Venues, Music and Life with tags , , , , , on October 10, 2012 by rosesopinion

***  KILL THE SOUND  ***

A few months ago, arriving at the show late as always, we caught the tail-end of Kill The Sound’s set and said to ourself , “we have got to see more of this band”.    And on Friday night, Maniacal Mojo gave us that opportunity when they once again rocked The Haven with a stellar line up kicked off by Kill The Sound.  

After listening to Kim and Milka’s unique vocals and the band’s finely tuned (self-described) alternative / garage band sounds, it is hard to believe that they have only been together about seven months.  Kill The Sound is;  Kim Acoustic – vocals; Alex Abbott – guitar; Brent Talbert – drums; Ally Sosa – bass; Milka Ramos – lead guitar and vocals.  Kim  graciously chatted with us for a few minutes outside the club; she explained that although the band is relatively new, she has worked in different projects with each of the current members. 

While Rose generally leans toward the darker side, we can’t help but feel great listening to “Alive”, “Locked Down” and “Super Duper”.   Kim says that each song is written to stand out and carry it’s own postive message, and we’d have to agree.  Check out Kill The Sound’s music at www.facebook.com/KilltheSound. And since this band is playing their asses off  from Tampa to Gainesville and every where in between, there is no reason that you can’t catch them live. (Unless, of course you are one of our readers in another state or another country).  Kill The Sound is scheduled to be back at The Haven for the Halloween show on October 27th. 

    

***   ANOTHER LIFE SPARED  ***

And then there’s Another Life Spared…. a band that always delivers great sounds to their fans.  Their energy keeps them in constant motion all over the stage, and keeps the crowd engaged show after show.  (The only problem is that it’s tough to get a decent picture.  They just move too damn fast!)  Listening to “Cataclysm” while writing this post and realized that we must get a copy of this EP as soon as possible…and you should too!  “” Cataclysm” is one of our favorites from the works of ALS.  From the beginning guitar chords to the amazing contrast of the vocals, it’s just one of those perfect songs that stays in your head for days after you’ve heard it.  Another Life Spared will be at Insomniacs next week and back at The Haven on October 27th.

   

***  BORN FROM ASHES  ***

 Born From Ashes must be one of busiest bands in Central Florida. They’re always up to something; radio spots, awesome videos, writing new songs, lots of shows, and oh yeah the Evermore Sound Battle of the Bands, Round 3 – Week 10.  Can’t wait for this round tonight.  BFA will be competing with some other pretty cool local bands, but we know who’s gonna tear it up!   If you haven’t already…. check out their video for “Pressure” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F8Nz7bP356M and their Facebook page.  Get ready to hit the “Like” button, ’cause we know you will. 

   

***  HUMAN FACTORS LAB  ***

Rose is a bit of an industrial junkie… and Human Factors Lab feeds the need.  While the band travelled and spent time in the studio working on their upcoming CD “The Blade”  we’ve been here patiently awaiting their return to a stage in Orlando.  And it was worth the wait… the sparks fly with Malice, Seven rampages around the stage, Sunni on guitar looms over like a big storm cloud, and Darq commands the  drums.  What more could you want?  Nothing, because what you get is something really incredible from a small group, with the sound of an industrial strength army.   “The Blade” may be the CD we are most looking forward to this year.  We know the music is gonna be killer, and with Brilliant Engine doing the artwork and the behind the scenes video, it’s definitely gonna look friggin’ awesome.  In the meantime, we don’t mind playing The Art of Suicide   http://youtu.be/IbR4fc2wRa4 over and over again.   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 181 other followers

%d bloggers like this: