Cinco de Mayo…Part I, with special feature: *Interview with T.J. Thompson*

We are completely convinced the best place you could have been on Cinco de Mayo was The Haven, where there was a killer line up of gigantic proportions.  Too much to say for just one post.  So, this is officially Cinco de Mayo…Part I.

 (So, why are we celebrating a war victory from a zillion years ago in Mexico?   Who cares! It’s a good enough reason to party!).

The night started with three of our favorite Orlando bands; An Effigy Distorted, From Within, and Another Life Spared.  All of whom kicked it squarely in the ass and got the celebration off the ground.

We managed to snag An Effigy Distorted’s set list from the stage so we could recap their set here; which was Ghost, Audible Colors, Roadhouse, Crimson, Victims, and wrapping up with Coronation.   Ahem….hey guys, it would be awesome to have an EP….just sayin’.

While we look forward to a recording, new music, and more shows from An Effigy Distorted, we have had the good fortune to get this interview with the phenominal T.J. Thompson.  

How long have you been playing?

“I’ve been playing guitar for about 9 and a half years now and the band has been playing together for almost 2 years now.”

              

Was there one specific moment in your life when you picked up a guitar, and said “this is what I’m going to do with my life”?
I wouldn’t say it was one specific moment, it was more of a series of events that made me want to do it.”

Who would you give credit as your most important influences?
Steve Vai, The Black Dahlia Murder, As I Lay Dying, Parkway Drive, Enfold Darkness, Protest The Hero, All Shall Perish, Whitechapel, The Wonder Years, and horror movies.”

How did An Effigy Distorted come together, and when?
AED formed back in the summer of 2010, it was created from the ashes of an older band that Patrick, Bayliss, and I were in. At the time, we were playing a somewhat progressive rock and Patrick said that our hearts would always be in metal. Well, he was right, cause here we are now.”

Do you remember the band’s first show?
I remember it like it was yesterday.  We showed up late, the input on my Dean was going out so I had to play my Epiphone, I didn’t even have time to tune it so I was a half step out of tune. My knees and hands were shaking horribly, something I still suffer from to this day, and I didn’t even start headbanging or moving around until about our fourth song.”

The band has grown tremendously since its birth.  What would you say have been the biggest milestones for the band?
Playing Club Firestone was definitely a huge milestone for the bands, so was our show at The Social. I still believe that our biggest milestone is the fact that we’re still together after all this time, we fight and argue a lot but we’re like a family, they’re my brothers.”   

AED by Bo Bradshaw

AED by Bo Bradshaw

Are there any turning points or obstacles that you have personally had to conquer to become the musician you are today?    Other than having to overcome stage fright, no.”

How much of the band’s original music / lyrics do you write?
When Jeremy was in the band, I only got to write my lead parts and a few rhythm parts, nothing drastic though.  Now that we have Rafe, I write a lot more of the material. As for lyrics, I help Patrick out when he asks for help but nothing big. The most I have written was for “Audible Colors,” I helped write the chorus and the final verse.”

What’s the creative process for an AED song?  What inspires you guys the most?
Usually Rafe or I toss a guitar riff out there and we build off of it. I write a lot after watching horror movies, like our newest song, I had written some of it after watching the prequel to The Thing.”

Where would you like to see the band in the next few months?  In the next year?
In the next few months, I would like to see us play in front of larger and more unfamiliar audiences. In the next year, I would like to see us with a demo and hopefully a Florida tour.”

Give us some awesome, little-known facts about T.J. ……..
H.P. Lovecraft is my favorite author, I’m a big fan of the Harry Potter series, I love horror films and novels, especially sci-fi horror, anything with aliens in it is the best (ex. The Alien films, Predator, The Thing).”

***

How do you feel Rose can best help get the word out about your band?
Well, her blog is perfect since the internet is an awesome asset for promotion, but, word of mouth is the still the best way to spread the word about something.”

What would you like to see included on Rose’s blog / website?
 “More pictures and videos would definitely be awesome to see included on the website.”

THANK YOU for  your time and allowing us the opportunity to learn more about you.

No problem, thank you for interviewing me, it means a lot.”

oooooooo

We also had a chance to chat with Alex Berger about new developments From Within.  Alex told us that the band has a potential new vocalist who has been auditioning with them recently.  Plans are still on for a new recording.  And there’s a possible summer  tour in the works, which could include Mayhem Fest.  To help get From Within’s a place amidst all the Mayhem…..go to the Rockstar Energy Drink Mayhem Fest site, and tag From Within.   

We also got to talk with Jennifer Perez and the guys from Another Life Spared!  It’s been awhile since we’ve seen them, but  this band is always amazing, and were no different on this night.  Another Life Spared’s got a big show in Melbourne next weekend, where they will  once again join forces Meka Nism, as well as Murderfly, LoveJuice, Blame the Tyrant, and Who Was I.  Friday, May 18th will be the perfect night to go to the show at the County Line, and maybe wake up at the beach (or somewhere) in the morning! 

    

So, in closing this post we say look out for Part II of our opinion on Cinco de Mayo, where you’ll find Lit Up, Team Cybergeist, Meka Nism, and I Will Break Thee.  Rose is also getting geared up for Spooky Empire’s May-Hem.  The insanity begins on March 25th and rampages through the weekend on International Drive.  Who knows, maybe we’ll get a particularly ghoulish chat with George VanOrsdel of the Family Ghouls and Q&A host for Spooky Empire.  George will definitely get us in the mood for the festivities……

 

Leave a Reply

